Just "D" Facts about Vitamin D

Benefits of Moderate UV Sunshine Exposure

Get your Kit Off, Get in the Sun and Live Longer.

Posted by D3forU on April 5, 2008

Well, well, well! Yet another spectacular u-turn by the medical/scientific community. Yes folks, hang on to your hats, it now seems that they’ve finally come to realise that . . . drumroll . . . SUNSHINE IS GOOD FOR YOU! gratuitous butt shot

Why the sudden change of heart?

What’s made them go from ‘cover up and stay out of the sun between the hours of 4am and 11pm’ to ‘get your kit off and enjoy a bit of sunbathing whenever you can’?

Ok, that’s not what they’re really saying but it does seem that the sun has been given a new lease of life. It has been turned miraculously from big bad cancer-causing bringer-of-death to all-encompassing ailment-curing giver-of-life.

Two very extreme extremes. Now, no-one can deny that over-exposure to the midday sun can damage your skin and also may cause skin cancers or melanomas. But it seems the medical profession now believes that under-exposure to sunlight can have just as disastrous consequences.

So which point of view is correct?

I have never subscribed to the ’stay out of the sun or die’ kind of scaremongering. The one basic fact that nobody can argue with is that ALL life on this planet depends on it. If the sun went out EVERYTHING on earth would die. Period.

So don’t you think that in the few thousand years of human habitation of this planet we might just have come to harness, rely on and adapt to it’s life-giving properties?

And that to try to hide from it or ignore its existence is kind of stupid? I’ve lived in southern Spain for the last four years so I know a thing or two about sunshine. Let me give you a little example of my personal experience of it.

Before I came here I lived in the UK so I didn’t get to see it much! I was always a bit prone to getting colds, or flu, or whatever nasty virus happened to be going around. I also suffered from rosacea. For those of you who don’t know what this is, it’s basically a kind of raw redness around the face, cheeks, nose and mouth.

There is no actual ‘cure’ for this but it can be controlled by antibiotics, diet, lifestyle, etc. Believe it or not, besides the usual advice to stay off dairy foods and avoid spicy foods and alcohol (yeah, right!), my doctor actually advised me to stay out of the sun.

I ignored him however because I know my own face better than most and I knew that when I did get the odd half-day of sunshine my face felt a bit better. So back to Spain.

First of all let me say that I do not sunbathe. I lie on a lilo on the pool occasionally but that’s it. If the sun’s out I sit in the shade. But the sun shines here ALL the time so whatever I do – walking, driving, shopping – I’m exposed to it. It’s just a fact of life now.

And my health?

Couldn’t be better! I can’t remember the last time I had a cold – or any ailment really. And most significantly my rosacea has completely gone. I haven’t used a single anti-biotic, or dietary control, or alcohol reduction since I’ve been here.

It’s gone because the Spanish sunshine made it go away. Simple as that. So in my eyes the sun is a friend that can do no wrong. But a friend that has to be treated with respect.

Dis the sun and you’ll regret it big-time! I see it all the time. From the Brits who come here for their two weeks of sun looking like boiled lobsters on their first day to the ex-pats who’ve been here twenty years and whose skin looks like a dark and well-grained saddlebag.

Some people just don’t get it, do they?

Moderation, my friends, moderation. Like everything in life a little of what you fancy does you good. The odd trough of curry, or vat of wine, or 4lb t-bone won’t hurt you once in a while.

But do it every day and you’re gonna die. It’s the same with the sun. Get to know it, expose that pasty body and enjoy its life-giving properties as often as you can. But don’t be an idiot, listen to your skin, it will tell you when enough’s enough.

When that happens go get a beer and sit in the shade. The sun can be your best friend or your worst enemy, the giver-of-life or the bringer-of-death. The beauty of it is the choice is entirely yours. Make the right one.

source

Leave a Reply

 
